Snippets are custom-made, reusable design elements that you can add to your page by simply dragging and dropping. You can learn more about creating your own snippets in this article.

Creating Folders

The snippets drawer allows you to create folders to place your snippets in, to keep them organized. You can create as many folders as you want. To create a new folder, click the “Add New” button and select “New Folder” from the drop-down:

Renaming Folders and Snippets

Any snippet or folder can be renamed by double-clicking on it and then typing the new name.

Reorganizing Folders and Snippets

You can move snippets around to different folders by simply dragging and dropping them. Reminiscent of the Page Structure Panel interface, the selected snippet or folder can be dropped into the highlighted blue area that appears once you begin dragging the item.

Folders can be moved around in the same way. You can also drop folders inside other folders, to create hierarchical organization.

Duplicating Snippets

To make a copy of a snippet, mouse over to the 3 lines that appear on the right of it within the list row. Clicking those 3 lines will open a dropdown where you can select “Duplicate Snippet” or “Delete Snippet”.

When you duplicate a snippet, you’ll be asked to provide a name and a destination. If you’re a member of more than one account, you can choose which account you’d like to save the snippet to. You can also choose the destination folder when there are multiple folders in that account. 

This workflow can be useful if you want to start designing snippets in your personal account, then copy them to your team account when you’re done. Ultimately, this makes them available to everyone in the team account.

Deleting Folders and Snippets

Any snippet or folder can be deleted from the snippets drawer. When you mouse over the item, 3 lines will appear on the right of it within the list row. Clicking those 3 lines will open a dropdown where you can select “Delete Snippet” or “Delete Folder”. Alternatively, you can select the item and while it's highlighted, hit the <delete> button on your keyboard. 

Deleting a snippet from the drawer has no effect on sites that have already used that snippet. Once placed, a snippet does not retain any connection with the snippets drawer.

Be careful deleting snippets from the drawer, though, because the action cannot be undone! Additionally, if you are a user of Team Edition and you delete a snippet from your team’s account, everyone on the team will also lose access to it.

Folders can be deleted from the snippets drawer in the same manner. A folder must be empty before it can be deleted, however. So you will need to remove any snippets from it first. 

Editing Existing Design Snippets

If you want to make changes to an existing snippet, just drag it onto the page, make your changes, and re-save it as a new snippet. You can then delete the old one if you want to replace it entirely.

Did this answer your question?