You can save websites that you’ve built as new custom templates. These will become available in the Template Gallery for you and your teammates to use to generate new sites.

To create a new template, follow the steps and screenshots below:

1. Open the website that you want to use as the basis for the template. Then select “Save Website As Template…” from the “File” menu.

2. You’ll then get a confirmation dialogue box. Click, “View Template”.

3. You’ll then be taken to your My Brandcast. From there, click the “tag” icon in the lower left corner of the template thumbnail.

4. You’ll then be taken to the edit tags manager. From there, add the tag you need to associate with your template. You can also select a tag from your list of existing tags.

Duplicating an Existing Template

In some cases, you may find that it's easiest to create your new custom template by basing it on an existing one, rather than starting from scratch.

To make a new custom template from an existing one, open the Template Gallery, find the template you want, and click the "Duplicate" button:

You'll then be able to edit the template you've created.

Best Practices for Creating Templates

Once your template is designed, there are some final steps you should take to ensure that it's easy for people to use it.

  • Saving a website as a template will save the entire site, including all the media and text content you’ve added. It's a good idea to make sure your text is placeholder (i.e. "lorem ipsum"), and that there isn't a lot of unused, unnecessary content in the Media Library.
  • You may want to add the social image, site description, and favicon. When others create a new website from your template, it will use these by default (but they'll be free to change them if they want.)
  • To make it easy for users to understand how you’ve built the site, it’s often a good idea to label elements in the Page Structure Panel. This will help them quickly and easily see how each page is structured, in case they need to make design changes.
  • If your team’s workflow is going to involve people working in Content Mode, it’s also a good idea to label items in Content Mode so they can easily understand what’s what. You can also “lock” page elements that you don’t want them to edit, making it much easier for them to focus on the content that actually needs to be filled in. 
Did this answer your question?