You can save websites that you’ve built as new custom templates. These will become available in the Template Gallery for you and your teammates to use to generate new sites.

To create a new template, open the website that you want to use as the basis for the template. Then select  “Save Website As Template…” from the “File” menu:

You’ll be asked to choose a name for the template, and a destination account:

If you are a Team Edition user and you save the template to your team’s account, it will become available for all your teammates to use. From that point on, they'll see it appear in the Template Gallery, and they'll be able to use it to generate new websites.

Duplicating an Existing Template

In some cases, you may find that it's easiest to create your new custom template by basing it on an existing one, rather than starting from scratch.

To make a new custom template from an existing one, open the Template Gallery, find the template you want, and click the "Duplicate" button:

You'll then be able to edit the template you've created.

Best Practices for Creating Templates

Once your template is designed, there are some final steps you should take to ensure that it's easy for people to use it.

  • Saving a website as a template will save the entire site, including all the media and text content you’ve added. It's a good idea to make sure your text is placeholder (i.e. "lorem ipsum"), and that there isn't a lot of unused, unnecessary content in the Media Library.
  • You may want to add the social image, site description, and favicon. When others create a new website from your template, it will use these by default (but they'll be free to change them if they want.)
  • To make it easy for users to understand how you’ve built the site, it’s often a good idea to label elements in the Page Structure Panel. This will help them quickly and easily see how each page is structured, in case they need to make design changes.
  • If your team’s workflow is going to involve people working in Content Mode, it’s also a good idea to label items in Content Mode so they can easily understand what’s what. You can also “lock” page elements that you don’t want them to edit, making it much easier for them to focus on the content that actually needs to be filled in. 
Did this answer your question?