Instead of creating a new website from scratch, you can use pre-existing templates as the basis for a new project.

To see what templates are available for use, click the “Templates” button on the Welcome Screen, or choose “New Website from Template…” from the “File” menu.

This will open the Template Gallery, which contains some pre-made Brandcast templates, as well as any custom templates that your team has created. 

(To learn more about how to create your own custom templates, refer to this article.)

Previewing a Template

Any template in the gallery can be previewed by selecting it, then clicking the “Preview” link on the thumbnail.

This will open a full-screen view of the template, with a functional navigation so you can click around if it’s a multi-page site.

A selector at the very top of the preview will allow you to see what the template looks like on different-sized devices (desktop, tablet landscape, tablet portrait, and phone.)

Using a Template

Once you’ve decided what template you’d like to use for your new website, select it and click the “Use Template” button.

You'll be asked to give your site a name, and a subdomain.

Each site on Brandcast has a unique subdomain (i.e. yoursite.brandcast.com). If you need to, you'll be able to edit this information later via the Website Settings dialog.

If you want to publish your site to a custom domain (i.e. yoursite.com), you will be able to do this from the Website Settings dialog later on. To learn more, refer to our documentation on publishing to Brandcast subdomains and to custom domains.

You can also choose a destination account for the site. If you have the Team Edition of Brandcast, you can choose to save the site into your team’s account, which will allow others to view and edit it. Learn more about how to collaborate with your teammates in this article

Once you've provided a name for your site, specified a subdomain, and selected a destination, click "Create Website" to begin editing your site.

Editing Websites Created from Templates

Once your new site has been created, it no longer maintains any connection to the template you used. If the template is updated in the future, or even deleted, this won’t affect your site.

If you’re going to be making substantial changes to the design of the site you've created, it’s often a good idea to use the Page Structure Panel to get a clear idea of how the page layouts were built. This can help avoid confusion and make it easier to locate the specific design elements you want to change.

If you only need to update the content of the new site -- to replace placeholder text copy, for example, or swap out images -- it may be easiest to just use Content Mode

Did this answer your question?